Source: Getty Images
With COVID-19 positive tests skyrocketing in Florida, some states are requiring travelers from the sunshine state to quarantine for 14 days.
New York, New Jersey and Connecticut all announced visitors coming from Florida will be required to self-quarantine for at least 14 days.
NY, NJ and CT will continually update and publish on their respective websites a list of states to which the new advisory applies.
As of today, the list of states includes: Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Florida, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, Utah & Washington. https://t.co/do5hy6UyUY
— Andrew Cuomo (@NYGovCuomo) June 24, 2020
However, travelers from Florida aren’t the only ones subject to the quarantine rule. Visitors coming from other COVID-19 hot-states including Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, North Carolina, South Carolina, Texas, Utah and Washington will also have to self-quarantine for two weeks should they travel to New York, New Jersey or Connecticut.
According to numerous media outlets, those found violating the quarantine rule could face stiff fines of $2,000 for the first violation, $5,000 for a second violation and up to $10,000 if their violation causes harm.